September 10th

New Innovations and the Best Nursery Practices

| Presented in English

Great innovations have been brought to the swine industry and we will highlight the latest. In addition, you will hear about the best nursery practices to consider in your barn to get pigs off to the best start after weaning! 

Also, don’t miss our special guest speaker from Neogen, Jesse McCoy, CWS – Business Unit Specialist, Water Treatment, who will talk about the importance of water quality; “How Water Can Give You 5.5 lbs per Pig.”

Featured Partner:

Syrvet_Canada_edited.png
ryan.png
Dr. Ryan Tenbergen DVM, M.Sc - Demeter Veterinary Services Inc.

Ryan grew up in Ingersoll, ON. He attended the University of Guelph completing a Bachelor of Science degree and Master of Science degree in swine health management, followed by graduation from the Ontario Veterinary College in 2016. Ryan has authored and co-authored scientific papers in the areas of swine disease and management as well as delivered oral presentations at scientific conferences and swine production meetings across Canada. He joined Demeter Veterinary Services in 2016 and services farms in Ontario and the Maritimes. Since 2019, he became a Demeter’s co-owner. He enjoys being challenged with new problems and helping people be successful in the swine industry.

marsha2.png
Marsha Chambers, Production Specialist – Demeter Veterinary Services Inc.

Marsha has been in the swine industry for over 20 years, training all new employees for Premium Pork to managing multiple farms. She then moved into production management helping producers with troubleshooting, staffing and working on the TFW file. She is now support and help Demeter’s customers as a production specialist by sharing all her knowledge and know-how in pork production. Her experience in staff management and recruitment is also an important contribution to producers.

Steve McVeeney, Production Specialist – Demeter Veterinary Services Inc.

Steve has been working in the swine industry for over 20 years. He started working in farms with Premium pork, and then switched to Sunterra/Sunwold farms overlooking all production areas. The past 7 years he has been the Production Supervisor of H and L farms. Steve has joined the Demeter team as a production specialist and he is available to discuss pig farming management with our customers. Based on his experience, he is surely a great adviser for Demeter’s customers and ensures the follow-up of the veterinary files and treatments.

Steve2_edited.png
Jesse McCoy, CWS - Business Unit Specialist, Water Treatment – Neogen

Jesse grew up in the Shenandoah Valley, VA. He attended James Madison University completing a Bachelor of Integrated Science and Technology, dual concentration in Environmental Science and Industrial Operations and Management. Jesse has worked as a consultant for a water quality group, before becoming a R&D director, specialized in developing and implementing practical strategies, all water-related. He is now the Business Unit Specialist for Water Treatment at Neogen Corporation where he implements water treatments in the objective of setting up cost-effective water programs. He is also a certified water specialist for the Water Quality Association.

Jesse McCoy_DETOURE.png
Presented by:
Logo_Demeter_2019_CMYK_EN.png
 
 
 
 

Eastern time

3:00 pm

3:05 pm

3:15 pm

3:35 pm

3:50 pm

Welcome Words
 

New Innovations

by Dr. Ryan Tenbergen

 

Best Nursery Practices

by Marsha Chambers and Steve McVeeney

 

How Water Can Give You 5.5 lbs per Pig

by Jesse McCoy

Questions and Conclusion

10 septembre

Récentes innovations et meilleures pratiques en pouponnière

| Présenté en anglais

 

D’importantes innovations ont eu lieu dans l'industrie porcine ces dernières années et nous vous présenterons les plus récentes. De plus, nous échangerons sur les meilleures pratiques à considérer en pouponnière pour assurer un bon départ aux porcelets après le sevrage !

Aussi, ne manquez pas notre invité spécial de la compagnie Neogen, Jesse McCoy, SEC – Spécialiste de l’unité d’affaires, Traitement de l’eau, qui nous parlera de l’importance de la qualité de l’eau ; « Comment l’eau peut-elle augmenter le poids de vos porcs de 2,5 kg ».

Partenaire vedette :

Syrvet_Canada_edited.png
Dr Ryan Tenbergen, DMV, M. Sc - Demeter Veterinary Services inc.

Dr Tenbergen a grandi à Ingersoll, en Ontario. Il a étudié à l'Université de Guelph et a complété un baccalauréat en sciences et une maîtrise en sciences en gestion de la santé porcine, puis a obtenu son diplôme du Collège vétérinaire de l'Ontario en 2016. Ryan est l'auteur et coauteur d'articles scientifiques dans le domaine des maladies porcines et de la gestion d’élevages porcins. Il a également été conférencier lors de plusieurs conférences scientifiques et de réunions sur la production porcine à travers le Canada. Il s'est joint aux Services vétérinaires Demeter en 2016 et en est devenu copropriétaire en 2019. Il supervise des fermes en Ontario et dans les Maritimes.

marsha2.png
Marsha Chambers, Spécialiste de production – Demeter Veterinary Services

Marsha travaille dans l'industrie porcine depuis plus de 20 ans. Elle a, entre autres, formé tous les nouveaux employés de Premium Pork pour la gestion des fermes. Elle a également aidé les producteurs à résoudre leurs problèmes en ferme, à recruter du personnel et à travailler sur le dossier des travailleurs étrangers. Elle accompagne et aide maintenant les clients de Demeter en tant que spécialiste de la production en partageant toutes ses connaissances et son savoir-faire en production porcine. Son expérience en gestion de personnel et en recrutement est également une contribution importante aux producteurs.

Steve McVeeney, Spécialiste de production – Demeter Veterinary Services

Steve travaille dans l'industrie porcine depuis plus de 20 ans. Il a commencé à travailler dans les fermes de Premium Pork, et ensuite aux fermes Sunterra/Sunwold comme superviseur de production. Au cours des 7 dernières années, il a aussi été le superviseur de production des fermes H et L. Steve a rejoint l'équipe Demeter en tant que spécialiste de la production et sera disponible pour discuter de la gestion de l'élevage porcin avec nos clients. Fort de son expérience, il est assurément un excellent conseiller pour les clients de Demeter et assure le suivi des dossiers et traitements vétérinaires.

Steve2_edited.png
Jesse McCoy, SEC - Spécialiste de l’unité d’affaires, Traitement de l’eau – Neogen

Jesse a grandi dans la vallée de Shenandoah, en Virginie. Il a obtenu son baccalauréat en sciences intégrées et technologies, avec une double concentration en science environnementale et en gestion et opérations industrielles à l’université James Madison. Jesse a travaillé comme consultant pour un groupe spécialisé en qualité de l’eau, avant de devenir directeur en recherche et développement, spécialisé dans le développement et la mise en œuvre de stratégies pratiques, toutes liées à l’eau. Il est maintenant le spécialiste de traitement de l’eau chez Neogen Corporation où il implémente des traitements de l’eau dans le but de mettre en place des programmes rentables dans ce domaine. Il est aussi un spécialiste certifié de l’eau par la Water Quality Association.

Jesse McCoy_DETOURE.png
Présenté par :
Logo_Demeter_2019_CMYK_EN.png
 
 
 
 

Heure normale de l'Est

15:00

15:05

15:15

15:35

15:50

Mot de bienvenue

Récentes innovations

par Dr Ryan Tenbergen

Les meilleures pratiques en pouponnière

par Marsha Chambers et Steve McVeeney

Comment l’eau peut-elle augmenter le poids de vos porcs de 2,5 kg

par Jesse McCoy

 

Questions et conclusion