July 15th

Circovirus and Influenza; Experience, Evolution and Prevention

| Presented in French

The national Demeter veterinarian group has dealt with different cases of porcine circovirus type-2 (PCV-2) across Canada that has affected pigs early in the nursery resulting in high mortality.  As a leader in swine health in Canada, we will present a webinar on the prevention of PCV-2 and circovirus type 3, a potential emerging disease gaining some attention in both the United States and Canada. 

Also, our guest speaker, Dr. Karine Talbot, Director of Animal Health at HyLife Ltd., will share with us her experience and knowledge of recent years on influenza control using vaccination in sow herds at HyLife.

This webinar will refresh everyone’s mind on these diseases, provide you with an update on their progress and help to promote discussion on prevention and future actions.

Featured Partner:

Zinpro_thumbnail_RGB_BlueBadge_BlackZinp
Sylvain%20Messier_touched_edited.png
Dr. Sylvain Messier DVM - Demeter Services Vétérinaires inc.

Sylvain was raised on a family pigs farm of which he is now a shareholder. In 1996, he obtained a degree in veterinary medicine for the University of Montreal’s faculty of veterinary medicine. The following year, he completed advance training in swine medicine. In 2004, after seven years as a veterinarian for a genetics company, he joined Dr. Martin Bonneau in founding Demeter Services Vétérinaires Inc. In addition to practicing swine veterinary medicine he is actively involved with different provincial organisations (AVIA, CMEP, RASPE, VSP) and several other industry committees.

Dre%20Karine%20Talbot_2021_edited.png
Dr. Karine Talbot DVM - HyLife Ltd.

Dr. Talbot graduated from University of Montreal in 2008 in Veterinary Medicine. She joined HyLife as the on-staff veterinarian in 2008 and she is now Director of Animal Health. Her work is primarily focused on health, production, welfare and biosecurity of all the different divisions of the company; genetic sale, commercial production, slaughter plant, truck wash, research and development, etc.  She oversees the veterinary needs of HyLife herds in Manitoba, Saskatchewan and North Dakota. She is also on the Board of Director of the Canadian Association of Swine Veterinarian (CASV-ACVP) since 2011.

Presented by:
Logo_Demeter_2019_CMYK_FR.png
 
 

Eastern time

3:00 pm

3:20 pm

3:30 pm

3:50 pm

Cases of PCV-2 across Canada
by Dr. Sylvain Messier

Laboratory Stats - How should we monitor circovirus and detect any changes quickly.

by Dr. Sylvain Messier

 

Experience with Controlling Influenza in HyLife Sow Herds
by Dr. Karine Talbot

 

Question Period

15 juillet

Le circovirus et l'influenza;  expérience, évolution et prévention

| Présenté en français

 

Nous avons traité différents cas de circovirus de type 2 à travers le Canada qui affectent les porcelets en début de pouponnière avec une mortalité élevée. En tant que leader en santé porcine au Canada, nous présenterons un webinaire sur la prévention du circovirus de type 2 et sur le circovirus de type 3, un virus émergeant qui suscite un intérêt grandissant aux États-Unis, ainsi qu’au Canada.

 

Aussi, notre conférencière invitée, la Dre Karine Talbot, Directrice de la Santé animale chez HyLife Ltd., nous partagera son expérience et ses acquis des dernières années sur le contrôle de l’influenza à l’aide de la vaccination dans les troupeaux de truies chez HyLife.

 

Ce webinaire vous rafraichira la mémoire sur ces maladies en plus de vous présenter une mise à jour sur leur évolution et contribuera à encourager la discussion sur la prévention et les actions à prendre.

Partenaire vedette :

Zinpro_thumbnail_RGB_BlueBadge_BlackZinp
Sylvain%20Messier_touched_edited.png
Dr Sylvain Messier, DMV - Demeter Services Vétérinaires inc.

Sylvain a grandi sur une ferme porcine familiale, dont il est aujourd’hui actionnaire. Il obtient son diplôme en médecine vétérinaire en 1996 à la Faculté de médecine vétérinaire de l’Université de Montréal. L’année suivante, il a suivi une formation avancée en médecine porcine. Après 7 ans à titre de vétérinaire pour une entreprise de génétique, il fonde Demeter Services Vétérinaires inc. en 2004 avec Dr Martin Bonneau, son collaborateur. La société comprend à ce jour une équipe de 6 vétérinaires à laquelle s’ajoutent les membres de l’équipe de soutien. En plus de pratiquer la médecine vétérinaire porcine au Québec, en Ontario et au Manitoba, Sylvain s’implique activement dans différents comités tels que l’AVIA, le RASPE, la VSP et plusieurs autres.

Dre%20Karine%20Talbot_2021_edited.png
Dre Karine Talbot, DMV, HyLife Ltd.

Dre Talbot est diplômée de l'Université de Montréal en 2008 en médecine vétérinaire. Elle a rejoint HyLife en tant que vétérinaire en 2008 et elle est maintenant Directrice de la Santé animale. Son travail est principalement axé sur la santé, la production, le bien-être et la biosécurité de toutes les différentes divisions de l'entreprise; vente de génétique, production commerciale, abattoir, lavage des camions, recherche et développement, etc. Elle supervise les besoins vétérinaires des troupeaux de HyLife au Manitoba, en Saskatchewan et au Dakota du Nord. Elle siège également au conseil d'administration de l'Association canadienne des vétérinaires porcins (CASV-ACVP) depuis 2011.

Présenté par :
Logo_Demeter_2019_CMYK_FR.png
 
 

Heure avancée de l'Est

15:00

15:20

15:30

15:50

Cas de circovirus de type 2 rencontrés au Canada

par Dr Sylvain Messier

Analyses de laboratoire - Comment tester le circovirus et détecter rapidement les changements

par Dr Sylvain Messier

L'expérience HyLife sur le contrôle et la prévention de l'influenza dans les troupeaux de truies

par Dre Karine Talbot
 

Période de questions