December 17th

L'importance des 72 premières heures de vie

| Presented in FRENCH

This webinar will present the important principles for maximizing the survival rate of suckling piglets as well as concrete actions that can be applied on-farm to achieve this. The focus will be on the first 72 hours of the piglet's life, because as we know, the majority of pre-weaning mortality occurs during the first 3 days after farrowing.

If a good job is done during these first few hours, not only will more piglets be alive on day 3, but the table will be set for a better survival rate and better long-term performance on this group of piglets.

Featured Partner:

BAM_edited.png
Phibro_AnimalHealthCorporation_Color_RGB
Dr. Sylvain Messier DVM - Demeter Services Vétérinaires Inc.

Sylvain was raised on a family pigs farm of which he is now a shareholder. In 1996, he obtained a degree in veterinary medicine for the University of Montreal’s faculty of veterinary medicine. The following year, he completed advance training in swine medicine. In 2004, after seven years as a veterinarian for a genetics company, he joined Dr. Martin Bonneau in founding Demeter Services Vétérinaires inc. In addition to practicing swine veterinary medicine he is actively involved with different provincial organisations (AVIA, CMEP, RASPE, VSP) and several other industry committees.

Sylvain%20Messier_touched_edited.png
Presented by:
Logo_Demeter_2019_CMYK_FR_edited.png

Eastern time

12 pm

12:05 pm

12:50 pm

Welcome words
 

L'importance des 72 premières heures de vie

 

Questions and conclusion

17 décembre

L'importance des 72 premières heures de vie

| Présenté en français

Ce webinaire présentera les principes importants permettant de maximiser le taux de survie des porcelets en lactation ainsi que des actions concrètes pouvant être appliquées en ferme pour y arriver. Le focus sera porté sur les 72 premières heures de vie du porcelet, car comme on le sait, la majorité de la mortalité pré-sevrage arrive durant les 3 premiers jours suivant la mise-bas.

Si un bon travail est fait durant ces premières heures, non seulement plus de porcelets seront vivants au jour 3, mais la table sera mise pour un meilleur taux de survie et de meilleures performances à long terme sur ce groupe de porcelets.

Partenaire vedette :

BAM_edited.png
Phibro_AnimalHealthCorporation_Color_RGB
Dr Sylvain Messier, DMV - Demeter Services Vétérinaires inc.

Sylvain a grandi sur une ferme porcine familiale, dont il est aujourd’hui actionnaire. Il obtient son diplôme en médecine vétérinaire en 1996 à la Faculté de médecine vétérinaire de l’Université de Montréal. L’année suivante, il a suivi une formation avancée en médecine porcine. Après 7 ans à titre de vétérinaire pour une entreprise de génétique, il fonde Demeter Services Vétérinaires inc. en 2004 avec Dr Martin Bonneau, son collaborateur. La société comprend à ce jour une équipe de 6 vétérinaires à laquelle s’ajoutent les membres de l’équipe de soutien. En plus de pratiquer la médecine vétérinaire porcine au Québec, en Ontario et au Manitoba, Sylvain s’implique activement dans différents comités tels que l’AVIA, le RASPE, la VSP et plusieurs autres.

Sylvain%20Messier_touched_edited.png
Présenté par :
Logo_Demeter_2019_CMYK_FR.png

Heure normale de l'Est

12:00

12:05

12:50

Mot de bienvenue

L'importance des 72 premières heures de vie

Questions et conclusions