April 30th

An attacking trio which score
for sure!

| Presented in French

Three renowned speakers will present novelties in finishing barns, strategies in maternity and the importance of terminal lines. Jean-Philippe Martineau and Dan Bussières, both swine nutritionists for Groupe Cérès and Nutrition Athéna, will be accompanied by Daniel Godbout, geneticist at PIC. They will discuss these topics and answer your questions!

Featured Partner:

PIC.PNG
Jean-Philippe Martineau, M.Sc. Agr. – Swine Nutritionist, Groupe Cérès inc.

Jean-Philippe was exposed to pork production from his childhood working on the family-owned farm farrow-to-finish of 720 sows. After a master's degree in Animal Science at Laval University in Quebec, he has worked as a swine nutritionist for 4 years for Hylife in Manitoba. After moving back to Quebec in 2017, he joined the nutrition team at Groupe Cérès. He is as of recently part owner of Nutrition Athéna (Groupe Cérès' feed division in Quebec). Jean-Philippe was also the recipient of the 2017 R.O. Ball Young Scientist Award, presented as part of the Banff Pork Seminar.

P1000298_zoom_in_COMP_edited.png
Dan Bussières, B.Sc. Agr. – Swine Nutritionist, Groupe Cérès inc.

Dan Bussières is a Swine Nutritionist and who graduated from Laval University, Quebec, in 1996. He and his business partner, Janin Boucher, founded Groupe Cérès Inc. in 2004. Their company, based in Lévis, Quebec, specializes in all areas of swine production. Dan works on the development and monitoring of nutrition programs for swine producers. Groupe Cérès Inc. and its affiliates influence the feeding of more than 4.5 million pigs in Canada. Dan is also working with several industry partners to conduct field research projects aimed at developing new feed programs to optimize pork production performance and improve meat quality.

P1320021_edited_edited_edited.png
Daniel Godbout M.Sc. Agr. Geneticist, PIC North America

Daniel Godbout has a bachelor’s degree (1985) and a master’s degree (1992) in animal science from Laval University. From 1985 to 2003, he worked as a geneticist in charge of the genetic program and as director of the research and development for Genetiporc and the Breton Group. With the purchase of Genetiporc by PIC in 2013, in addition to ensuring the transfer of elite genes from Genetiporc genetic lines to PIC's Nucleus herds, he took on responsibility for genetic services for PIC clients in Canada and some US accounts. Daniel is a member of several provincial and national committees promoting the development of Canadian swine genetics and basic and applied swine research. He has also been a member of the CIPQ Board for almost 10 years.

Daniel%20Godbout_30%20avril_COMP_edited.

Eastern time

3:00 pm

3:20 pm

3:35 pm

3:50 pm

The Importance of the Terminal Lines 

by Daniel Godbout

 

Novelties in Fishing Barns

by J-P Martineau

Strategies in Maternity 

by Dan Bussières

 

Question period

Presented by:
Groupe_Ceres_logo

30 avril

Un trio offensif qui marque
à coup sûr!

| Présenté en français

Trois conférenciers réputés discutent de nouveautés en engraissement, de stratégies en maternité et de l'importance des lignées terminales. Jean-Philippe Martineau et Dan Bussières, tous deux nutritionnistes porcins pour Groupe Cérès inc. et Nutrition Athéna inc., seront accompagnés de
Daniel Godbout, généticien chez PIC. Ils aborderont ces sujets et répondront à vos questions!

Partenaire vedette :

PIC.PNG
Jean-Philippe Martineau, M.Sc. Agr. – Nutritionniste porcin, Groupe Cérès inc. 

Jean-Philippe est exposé à la production porcine dès son enfance puisque son père possédait un élevage naisseur-finisseur de 720 truies. Après une technique agricole au CÉGEP de Victoriaville, un baccalauréat en agronomie et une maitrise en sciences animales à l’Université Laval, au Québec, Jean-Philippe a travaillé les 4 dernières années pour Hylife, compagnie produisant le plus de porcs au Canada. De retour au Québec en 2017, il s'est joint à l'équipe de nutrition du Groupe Cérès. Il est depuis copropriétaire de Nutrition Athéna (la division de l’alimentation du Groupe Cérès au Québec). Jean-Philippe fut également récipiendaire du prix R.O. Ball Young Scientist Award 2017, remis dans le cadre du Banff Pork Seminar.

Dan Bussières, B.Sc. Agr. – Nutritionniste porcin, Groupe Cérès inc. 

Dan Bussières, nutritionniste porcin diplômé en 1996 de l’Université Laval au Québec, et son partenaire, Janin Boucher, fondent en 2004 Groupe Cérès inc. Cette société, basée à Lévis, se spécialise dans toutes les sphères de la production porcine et influence aujourd’hui l’alimentation de plus de 4 millions de porcs au Canada. Dan travaille à l’élaboration et au suivi de programmes de nutrition pour les producteurs de porcs et contribue aussi, avec de nombreux partenaires de l’industrie, à des projets de recherche pour développer de nouveaux programmes d’alimentation afin d’optimiser les performances des élevages porcins et d’améliorer la qualité de la viande de porc. Groupe Cérès inc. emploie plus de 80 personnes et s’engage à continuer de travailler avec des porcs produits au Canada.

Daniel Godbout M.Sc. Agr. Généticien, PIC North America

Daniel Godbout est titulaire d’un baccalauréat (1985) et d’une maîtrise en sciences animales (1992) de l’Université Laval. De 1985 à 2013, il a travaillé à titre de généticien responsable du programme génétique et en tant que directeur de recherche et développement pour Génétiporc et le groupe Breton. Avec l’achat de Génétiporc par PIC en 2013, en plus de s’assurer du transfert des gènes élites des lignées génétiques Génétiporc vers les troupeaux Nucleus de PIC, il a pris la responsabilité des services génétiques des clients PIC au Canada et de certains comptes américains. Daniel fait partie de nombreux comités provinciaux et nationaux promotionnant le développement de la génétique porcine canadienne et la recherche porcine fondamentale et appliquée. Il siège également au conseil d’administration du CIPQ depuis près de 10 ans.

Heure normale de l'Est

15:00

15:20

15:35

15:50

L'importance des lignées terminales

par Daniel Godbout

 

Nouveautés en engraissement
par J-P Martineau

Stratégies en maternité

par Dan Bussières

 

Questions et conclusion

Présenté par :